The First Congregational Church, UCC of Dudley, also known as Dudley Hill Church, dates back to the incorporation of the town of Dudley in 1732. The first meeting house, known today as the Carter house and standing at the intersection of Dudley-Oxford & Ramshorn Roads, served as a meeting place for both worship & town meetings for a few years A second meeting house was built on land donated by Nipmuc Indian John Pegan at the top of Dudley Hill.

The windows in the tower, like those in the sanctuary, are opalescent glass designed by Caryl Coleman, then working for Tiffany Glass Company, in a special mosaic glass design that features recurring geometric and floral patterns. Coleman designed the glass to be as vibrant from the exterior as from the interior. Attached to the façade bricks at a lower level, near the foundation, is a large bronze “Commemorating the Bicentennial” plaque (1976) for the first Dudley Meeting House, explaining that the first of the three meeting house/churches on this lot stood on the Common directly in front of the current church. The north and south side walls of the church are each dominated by a large window that lights the back of the sanctuary, near the balcony, and a much larger multi-paneled Tiffany window that lights each of the transepts. Because the level of the ground falls away from the front of the church to the west, the basement meeting spaces in the church are lighted from both the north and south by large windows set within the stone foundation, their tops flush with the top of the foundation; each is capped with a large brownstone block